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March 1, 2018 
 

NOTICE OF 2018 BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY ONLINE TAX FILING 
 

Dear Weber County Business Owner, 
 
In accordance with the provisions set forth under the Revenue and Taxation laws for the State of Utah, taxable business entities 
are required to pay an annual self-assessing Personal Property Tax. Such tax is levied against all personal property assets (i.e. trade 
fixtures, equipment, computers, telephone systems, furniture, tools, signage, etc.) owned and/or used by the business as of 
January 1st of each year. 
 
Please refer to your account number and secure pin located above to utilize our online filing system. On the reverse hereof is a 
detailed set of instructions for filing online. Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient. For complete instructions, forms, and payment 
options, visit our website at: www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php .  Please note: If you are unable to file online, 
please call our office at (801)399-8572 for assistance. 
 
Tax Exempt: A business with an aggregate taxable value of $10,500 or less may be exempt from Personal Property Tax. This 
exemption applies to the total value of all Personal Property owned and/or used by your business in Weber County. If you have 
more than one business location in Weber County under the same business ownership, the exemption is applicable only if the 
total value of all property owned by such entity is less than $10,500. Your application for exemption may only be considered with a 
completed Signed Statement of Personal Property.  Failure to file timely and submit a signed statement may result in a forfeiture 
of your application for exemption. 
 

Your Signed Statement and tax payment are due on or before May 15, 2018. Past due accounts will be subject 
to penalty and interest at the rate of 7.25% annually. 

 
If your business has closed or you no longer own this business, please complete the online "Business Change Form" found on our 
website. 
 
If you need assistance, please call (801)399-8572 or visit our office at 2380 Washington Blvd. Suite 380, Ogden.  Our office hours 
are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
 
 
John Ulibarri  
Weber County Assessor  

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
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2018 Personal Property Tax Online Filing Instructions 
 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php   

 
All businesses are required to submit an annual self-assessing personal property tax filing. The process of filing your business 
personal property tax begins with gathering your records. 

 A complete list of all assets (trade fixtures, equipment, machinery, signage, computers, furniture, etc.) used in connection 

with your business as of January 1, 2018 is needed. This list should include: item description, acquisition year, acquisition 

cost, and quantity.  

  Lease agreements for any equipment being leased or rented, used in connection with your business as of January 1, 2018. 

 The total cost of supplies on hand as of January 1, 2018 (divide the year’s total supply amount by 12). Supplies include 

items such as general office supplies and maintenance supplies. 

Access the Online Personal Property filing system at www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php   
Click on ‘File Online Business Personal Property’ and refer to your account number and password located on the reverse hereof to 
log in.  

 Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient. 

 First, please verify basic contact and location information. 

 Enter the information on all leased or rented equipment (please do not list registered motor vehicles or land and buildings). 

 Businesses filing for the first time are required to file a full declaration. In subsequent years, your equipment listing from 

the previous year will be available to update. 

 Begin adding your equipment by selecting a correct classification code (refer to the valuation schedules/descriptions if 

unsure), then add the item description, year acquired, quantity, and cost.  

 As you add each piece of equipment to the filing system, it will automatically calculate a taxable value based on the 

classification code chosen.  

 Once all equipment has been entered, your total taxable value and total tax due will be calculated. If the total taxable value 

is $10,500 or less, you will be exempt from payment.   

 Once you proceed to the ‘Final Steps’, you will electronically sign the Signed Statement for submission. 

 After submitting your filing, be sure to ‘Print Return’ for your records.  

 If required, electronic payments can be made in the form of an e-check or credit card. A fee of 2.45% ($1.95 minimum) is 

charged on all credit card transactions; Weber County does not receive this fee. 

 If you elect to pay your personal property tax via postal mail, please ensure the payment is postmarked by May 15, 2018 to 

avoid interest. 

Once you have completed the entire online filing process, your filing will be reviewed by a personal property appraiser in our office. 
If any changes are necessary, we will correct them and notify you of any changes.  
 
If you need assistance, please call our office at (801)399-8572. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8 am to 5 pm.  
 

Thank you for using our online filing system. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 

 

PLEASE VERIFY LOCATION ADDRESS 

 

 

ADDRESS INCORRECT? SEE BUSINESS CHANGE FORM 

 

2018 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 

 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 
Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401  
Phone: (801) 399-8572 • Fax: (801) 399-8308   

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php  

 
 

 
 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Line 1: Supplies – Enter the cost of supplies. ________________________  (1) 

Line 2: Equipment – Enter Grand Total from Schedule D (reverse) ________________________  (2) 

Line 3: Total of lines 1 and 2 rounded to the nearest dollar. 
If the total on line 3 is $10,500 or less, STOP, do not calculate the tax at this time,  
sign form below. DO NOT DEDUCT $10,500. 

________________________  (3) 

Line 4: Tax Rate – IMPORTANT NOTE: If the business location has changed during the 
past year, please call (801) 399-8572 for the correct tax rate. 

________________________  (4) 

Line 5: Tax Amount Due – Line 3 multiplied by Line 4.       ________________________  (5) Tax Due 

Make check payable to: Weber County Assessor, 2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380, Ogden, UT 84401 
PLEASE NOTE: FILING AND PAYMENT DUE DATE MAY 15, 2018 

 
I do swear that this signed statement reflects a full, true, and correct account 
of all personal property within Weber County, Utah, subject to taxation 
which was owned, possessed, managed, or controlled by me at 12 o’clock 
noon on January 1

st
 2018, that no property has been transferred out of 

Weber County or disposed of for the purpose of avoiding any assessment.   
Unsigned statements will be returned and will be subject to interest and/or 
penalty if delayed.  If your business qualifies for exemption from property tax 
based on the value detailed and listed herein, your signature on this 
statement of personal property is required. You are certifying that the 
taxable value of all tangible personal property owned by the legal entity 
listed above is $10,500 or less.  This application for exemption is not official 
until granted by the Board of Equalization.  This form will be submitted to 
the board on your behalf by the Assessor.  This exemption is determined by 
ownership.  If you have tangible personal property at different locations, and 
you file more than one personal property statement, the total value of all 
tangible personal property at all locations will determine exemption 
eligibility. 

 
Any Taxpayer dissatisfied with the taxable value may appeal by 
filing an application no later than May 15, 2018. Appeal forms may 
be obtained from the Weber County Auditor's office, 2380 
Washington Blvd. STE 320 Ogden, UT.  84401 
 
APPEALS MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN MAY 15, 2018 

CUSTOMER SERVICE: (801) 399-8572 

PLEASE CHECK ONE 

Sole Proprietor 

Partnership 

Corporation 

L.L.C. 
 

Nature of Business:                                                          
                                                              _______             
Federal Tax ID:                                        __                    
Date Opened:                                                                                                               

Does the applicant listed above own property listed on other personal 
property statements at other locations within this County? 

 
Yes [  ] No [   ] If, “yes” please list the other account numbers in space below. 
 
 

SIGNATURE                                                                                         DATE                                         PHONE 
   REQUIRED                                REQUIRED 



 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 

Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 2018 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 
 

SCHEDULE D 
Equipment Description and Value 

List all business furniture, fixtures and equipment owned and/or used in connection with your business 
 

More forms are available on-line @ www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

See Schedule 

(A) Property Code 

(B) 

Property Description 

(C) 

Year of Acquisition 

(D) 

Original Cost 

(E) 

Quantity 

(D) x (E)= 

(F)  Total Cost 
See Schedule 

(G) Depreciation Rate 

(F) x (G)= 

(H) Market Value 

Examples: Examples only 
150 HP Laptop Computer 2017 1,350 2 2,700 62% 1,674 

155 Software 2016 1,250 2 2,500 41% 1,026 
 Enter Equipment Detail Here: 

Please indicate the total cost of all "Supplies" (Property Code 100) on Line 1 of the Signed Statement ~ Do not include Supplies Cost and Detail on Schedule D 

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

        

 

Please enter the total market value of all property on Line 2 of the Signed Statement: Total Market Value:   
 More forms are available on-line @ www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR     Account Number: _________________ 

Joseph H. Olsen • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 
www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

 

LEASED OR RENTED EQUIPMENT 
List itemized leased or rented equipment below. DO NOT transfer any totals to the signed statement. 

Note: If your equipment is considered a “Conditional Sale Lease” make sure it has previously been reported or listed on the schedule A                
in the equipment acquired area. You are required to list and pay taxes on this equipment as if it were owned by you. 

 
NAME AND ADDRESS OF LESSOR 

 
EQUIPMENT  DESCRIPTION 

STARTING DATE 

OF LEASE 

COST AT 

START DATE 

    
    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    
 

ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET(S) IF NECESSARY 
 

Business Change Form 
 

            Business Name Account 
 

Owner Telephone 
 

Mailing Address 

Physical Address 

Contact Person 

Telephone E-Mail 

 
CHANGE OF ADDRESS       Mailing  Location 

 
Previous Address __________________ 

New Address  When _____________________ 

BUSINESS NAME CHANGED 
 

Previous Name 

New Name 

SOLD BUSINESS 
 

Date Business Sold Business at Same Location? Yes No 

Who has Possession of Equipment? 

CLOSED BUSINESS 
 

Date Business Ceased Operating: Business License Cancelled? Yes No 

What Happened to the Equipment? 

FILED BANKRUPTCY 
 

What is the Case Number? Status of Filing 
 

Date of Bankruptcy Business in Operation? Yes No 
 

Utah Code: 59-2-307- ... Each person who fails to file the signed statement shall pay a penalty equal to 10% of the estimated tax due, but 
not less than $25 for each failure to file a signed and completed statement. The penalty imposed by this section may not be waived or 
reduced by the assessor, county commission, or county board of equalization. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 2018 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2018 & prior 100% 2017 $15.00 2016 & prior $3.00 2017 92%

Cost should include sales tax/freight Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: 2016 85%

Examples of Property Include: Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs, Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs,  2015 77%

Maintenance & Cleaning supplies, Blu-Ray and computer games Blu-Ray and computer games 2014 69%

fuel, replacement parts, oil, office 2013 62%

supplies 2012 55%

2011 46%

2010 37%

2009 29%

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good 2008 21%

2017 70% 2017 62% 2017 90% 2007 & prior 11%

2016 41% 2016 46% 2016 82% Machinery & tooling used in the  

2015 & prior 10% 2015 21% 2015 72% production and processing industries. 

Property is highly susceptible to 2014 9% 2014 62% Equipment used in service industries 

breakage, loss and rapid wear & tear. 2013 & prior 7% 2013 53% such as service stations, laundry & dry 

Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: 2012 44% cleaning businesses, and bulk 

Bath Mats CAD/CAM Systems 2011 33% petroleum  distributors.  

Computer Software Data Processing Equipment  2010 22% Examples of Property Include: 

Library Materials/Books Data Processing Peripherals  2009 & prior 12% Air Compressors 

Molds  LAN Systems Non-mechanical furniture & trade fixtures Amusement Rides 

Motel/Hotel Linen & Towels Mainframe Computers Examples of Property Include: Automotive Tools 

Motion Picture Prints Personal Computers Auditorium & Theater Seats  Bakery Equipment Bottling 

Patterns, Jigs & Dies Plotters Awnings Bowling Equipment 

Plants, Decorative Copiers Bars & Sinks (Portable) Brew/Distillery Equipment 

Pots & Pans Copy, Fax, Printer Combination BBQs/Fireplaces  Cannery Equipment

Utensils & Silverware Printer/Copy Machines Beauty/Barber Shop Fixtures  Carpet Cleaners Equipment 

Wood Pallets POS Systems-Non Manual Booths, Tables & Chairs Car Wash Equipment 
Cabinets & Shelves (Portable) Clothes Washers & Dryers 
Cashier’s Island Conveyors 
Check Out Counters Darkroom Equipment

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Decorations Drill Rigs-Non Petroleum  

2017 48% 2017 75% Display–Cases & Racks (Non Refrigerated) Dry Cleaning Machines 

2016 45% 2016 50% Exercise Equipment Food Preparation Equipment 

2015 42% 2015 25% Furniture- All Types Generators 

2014 40% 2014 & prior 0% Garbage Containers Golf Carts 

2013 37% Please visit our website for more Framing Hand Tools 

2012 34% Information on this class of property Motel/Hotel Beds and Furniture Incinerators 

2011 32% Mobile Offices Kilns-Dry & Tunnel 

2010 29% A piece of equipment, machinery, furniture, Office and Concession Trailers Kitchen Appliances 

2009 26% or other piece of tangible personal property Movable Partitions  Lawn Mowers 

2008 23% that is functioning at its highest and best Movie Screens  Lube Systems & Devices 

2007 21% use for the purpose it was designated and Musical Instruments  Machine Shop Equipment 

2006 18% constructed and is generally capable of Signs, Mechanical & Electrical Manufacturing Machinery 

2005 15% performing that function without being *LED Component of a billboard Meat Packing Equipment 

2004 & prior 13% combined with other items of personal Tanning Booths  Milling Plant Equipment 

Mobile Machinery used in the property. Non-capitalized property is an item Televisions Mortuary Equipment 

construction & quarry industry as well that has been totally expensed or written Water Slides  Piping, Industrial 

as equipment used in the processing of off in the year of acquisition. Commercial Presses and Printing

construction materials. 1. Has an acquisition cost of $1,000 or       Equipment  

Examples of Property Include: less Processing Equipment 

Asphalt Equipment 2. Is claimed as allowed on a federal tax Power Tools 

Backhoes & Front Loaders return as a deductible expense under Year Acquired Percent Good Pumps- Air, Water, Fuel 

Batch Plants Section 162 or Section 179, Internal 2017 47% Refrigerated Display Cases 

Cement Batch Plants Revenue Code, in the year of acquisition 2016 34% Refrigeration Equipment 

Concrete/Cement Forms- Heavy Duty 3. All classes of property qualify for the 2015 24% Sanders 

Compaction Equipment election to class 28 (Non-Capitalized 2014 15% Saws 

Cranes-Construction Personal Property) 2013 & prior 6% Service Station Equipment 

Excavators Examples of Property Include: Sewing Machine 

Graders Clean Room Equipment Shoe Repair Machinery 

Loaders Chemical & Gas Systems Ski Lift Machinery 

Log Skidders & Loaders Crystal Growing Equipment Smelter Equipment 

Pavers Deionized Water Systems Snow Removal Equipment 

Scrapers Encapsulation Equipment Submerged Pumps 

Snow Cats Photo Mask & Wafer Equip.  Wheel Alignment & Balancing     

Sweepers       Equipment  

Welders 

Woodworking Equipment

Continued on Back

PROPERTY CODE 155
Short Life Property

PROPERTY CODE 150
Computer Hardware

PROPERTY CODE 10
Furniture & Trade Fixtures

PROPERTY CODE 13
Semiconductor Manufacturing

PROPERTY CODE 30
Heavy Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 28
Non-Capitalized Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 100 PROPERTY CODE 400 PROPERTY CODE 401 PROPERTY CODE 20
Supplies Rental Media Rental Media Machinery & Equipment



 2018 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2017 84% 2017 92% 2017 89% 2017 84%

2016 68% 2016 85% 2016 80% 2016 69%

2015 51% 2015 77% 2015 69% 2015 52%

2014 35% 2014 69% 2014 58% 2014 36%

2013 & prior 18% 2013 62% 2013 47% 2013 19%

Data Processing Equipment, 2012 55% 2012 37% 2012 & prior 4%

Electronic Type of Equipment, 2011 46% 2011 24% Examples of Property Include: 

including Office Machines subject 2010 37% 2010 & prior 12% Aircraft Tools and Dies 

to severe wear & tear  2009 29% Machinery which cannot operate Aircraft Manufacturing  

Examples of Property Include: 2008 21% independently from the computer Aircraft Manufacture & Test Equip 

Accounting Machines  2007 & prior 11% system. Machinery & computer Aircraft Molds  

Alarm Systems  Specialized Equipment used in Medical sold as a single unit.  Aircraft Patterns  

Candy Machines  Profession & Health Care Industry Examples of Property Include: Aircraft Taps and Gauges 

Cash Registers  Examples of Property Include: Computerized Assembly Machinery 

Coin-Op Vending Machines Dental Equipment & Instruments Computer Driven Mills 

Drive-Up Windows (Bank) Exam Tables & Chairs  Computer Integrated Fabrication 

Drones Hospital Equipment        Machinery Year Acquired Percent Good
Fax Machines  Lensometer  MRI Equipment 2017 95%
Microwave Communications Equip. Medical Equipment & Instruments Computerized Machine Lathes 2016 92%
Music/Stereo Systems & Radios Mesoptomers  CAT Scanners 2015 87%
Reservation Terminals  Microscopes  Gamma Camera Systems 2014 83%
Shopping Carts  Optical Equipment & Instruments Digital Movie Projection Equipment 2013 80%
Small Equipment Rental Sterilizers  Ultrasound (Sonograph) Equipment 2012 77%
Sound Systems  X-Ray Machines Mammography Units 2011 71%
Surveillance Camera/TV Veterinary Instruments/Equipment  Digital X-Ray Machines 2010 67%
Telephone Systems & Equip. Other Computer Integrated Machinery 2009 64%
Typewriters  2008 62%
Video Game Machines  2007 59%

2006 55%

2005 50%

2004 44%

2003 37%

2002 30%

Year Acquired Percent Good Percent Good Percent Good 2001 23%

2017 93% Year less Residential Year less Residential 2000 15%

2016 85% Acquired Exemption Acquired Exemption 1999 & prior 8%

2015 80% 2017 50% 2017 51% Property having a long physical life. 

2014 73% 2016 45% 2016 47% Examples of Property Include: 

2013 66% 2015 40% 2015 42% *Billboards (excluding LED component) 

2012 60% 2014 34% 2014 38% Grain Elevators - Non-Farm 

2011 54% 2013 29% 2013 34% Pipelines  

2010 46% 2012 24% 2012 30% Radio Towers  

2009 40% 2011 18% 2011 25% Sign Towers  

2008 33% 2010 12% 2010 20% Ski Lift & Tram Towers 

2007 26% 2009 & prior 7% 2009 16% Surface Tanks  

2006 19% Furniture & Trade Fixtures used 2008 12% Towers, Cell Phone, Broadcast 

2005 & prior 10% exclusively within a dwelling 2007 & prior 6% Underground Tanks  

Equipment used in the petroleum & gas unit that is a primary resident Machinery & Equipment used Wind Powered Electrical 

exploration and production industry of a tenant. exclusively within a dwelling Generators/Equipment/Towers  

Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: unit that is a primary resident

Distillation Equipment  Furniture- Couches/Chairs of a tenant. *Only billboard signage should be 

Drill Rigs Household Furnishings Examples of Property Include: classified Long Life. For all other signage, 

Gas Lines-Petroleum Microwave Oven including the LED component of a 

Holding & Storage Facilities Refrigerators/Freezers billboard, see property code 10. 

Metering Devices Washers and Dryers

Petroleum Pumping Units  Window Mount Air Conditioners

Re-Injection Equipment Year Acquired Percent Good

Wellhead Assemblies  2017 41%

Well Site Generators 2016 28%

2015 14%

2014 & prior 0%

Equipment must  qualify for class 28 AND

be used exclusively within a dwelling

unit  that is a primary resident of a tenant.  

For more classification examples, please refer to the link listed below.  

https://propertytax.utah.gov/personal/classification-guide

Petroleum & Natural Gas 

Exploration & Prod. Equip.

PROPERTY CODE 105
Furniture & Trade Fixtures Used for 

Residential Purposes

PROPERTY CODE 205
Household Machinery & Equip 

Used for Residential Purposes

PROPERTY CODE 203

PROPERTY CODE 15 PROPERTY CODE 160
Short Life Equipment Medical & Dental Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 214
Long Life Property

PROPERTY CODE 230 PROPERTY CODE 12
Computer Integrated Machinery Aircraft/Manufacturing Tools & Dies

PROPERTY CODE 285
Non-Capitalized Equipment Used 

for Residential Purposes
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