RICKY HATCH, CPA WEBER COUNTY CLERK/AUDITOR 2380 WASHINGTON BLVD., SUITE 320 OGDEN, UT 84401-1456 PHONE: (801) 399-8400

MARRIAGE OFFICIATOR LIMITED DESIGNATION

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/clerk_auditor/documents /Limited.pdf



This application is for individuals who would like to be designated by the Weber County Clerk/Auditor to officiate a specific marriage ceremony, or for a limited duration (typically 30 days). If you would like to be designated for an unlimited duration, please complete the form: Marriage Officiator Indefinite Designation. Applicants typically must appear in person with a photo ID to become a Clerk Designee authorized to perform a marriage ceremony.

DESIGNEE INFORMATION

Designee's First Name	Middle Name	Last Name	Date of Birth
2Phone Number	3 Email Address		
4.			
Mailing Address		City & State	Zip Code

Your name and contact information will not be made publicly available, though it may be subject to a request for public information under the Government Records and Management Act (GRAMA).

DURATION OF DESIGNATION

This designation will be for a specific ceremony (or ceremonies) and/or for a limited duration. This designation will automatically terminate upon the earlier of (1) the date specified, or (2) the completion of the ceremony or ceremonies listed.

(1) DATE:		_ OR, IF KNOWN (NAMES A	ND LICENSE # PREFERRED):
(2) LICENSE #	SPOUSE 1		SPOUSE 2

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND INTENT

I request to be appointed an official Designee of the Weber County Clerk in order to perform marriage ceremonies in the State of Utah per Utah Code Ann. 17-20-4. I hereby witness and acknowledge that I will abide by the laws of the State of Utah in administering the duties of a Designee and agree to the responsibilities and requirements of a Designee, including:

- 1. I acknowledge that my appointment as a Designee does not make me an employee of the Weber County Clerk/Auditor's office, nor does it establish an employment or contractor relationship with Weber County.
- 2. I am 18 years of age or older.
- 3. I understand that my authority to perform marriage ceremonies extends only within the borders of the State of Utah, and that I am not authorized under Utah State Code to officiate in wedding ceremonies outside of the State of Utah.
- 4. This designation is for only the ceremony or ceremonies listed on this document. I will not officiate in any other ceremonies under the authority of this specific designation by the Weber County Clerk.
- 5. With advance notice, I agree to be reasonably available to perform the specific wedding ceremonies I have been designated to perform. This may be during the normal business hours of the Weber County Clerk or, with the approval of the couple to be married, I may also perform the wedding ceremony outside of the normal business hours of the Clerk's office.
- 6. I agree to negotiate and manage any compensation for my services. I agree that I will establish a consistent fee schedule for any service I provide as a Designee, and that my fee schedule will not discriminate or provide preferential pricing on the basis of any characteristic protected under law.

- 7. I understand and agree to abide by Utah State Code governing marriage, including the following provisions:
 - a. I will only perform marriage ceremonies for which a legal marriage license has been issued in the State of Utah, and only for the marriage ceremonies listed in this designation.
 - b. A marriage license is only valid within thirty (30) days of issuance. After thirty (30) days, the license must be returned and reissued.
 - c. A ceremony must have two witnesses (18 years of age or older) that are present to attest to the marriage. These witnesses must be someone other than the officiator and the couple, and must sign the license.
 - d. I will ensure that the official marriage license is filled out accurately and completely, including all necessary signatures. I will enter my "title as officiator" on the marriage license as Clerk Designee.
 - e. I will return the official license to the Weber County Clerk's office within thirty (30) days of the ceremony. Failure to do so may result in my being charged with a misdemeanor under Utah Code Ann. 30-1-11.
- 8. I will provide a marriage ceremony that affords each party the opportunity to affirm their willingness to enter into a marriage commitment. Note that the couple may provide their own wording, as long as it includes a statement of their voluntary entry into a marriage commitment with their spouse. A sample of such wording is as follows:

<u>DESIGNEE</u>: (Spouse 1), do you take (Spouse 2) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?
<u>SPOUSE 1</u>: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)
<u>DESIGNEE</u>: (Spouse 2), do you take (Spouse 1) to be your lawfully wedded (husband/wife/spouse)?
<u>SPOUSE 2</u>: (Required to answer in the affirmative.)
<u>DESIGNEE</u>: By virtue of the authority vested in me through the laws of the State of Utah, I now pronounce you (Spouse 1) and (Spouse 2) legally married.

- 9. I agree and promise to indemnify and hold harmless Weber County, its officers, agents, officials, employees, and volunteers, and release them for and from any liability, costs or expenses arising from any action, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages, expenses, costs, fees, or compensation, whether or not said actions, causes of action, claims for relief, demands, damages, costs, fees, expenses and/or compensations are known or unknown, are in law or equity, and without limitation, all claims of relief which can be set forth through a complaint or otherwise that may arise out of the acts or omissions, negligent or otherwise of the Designee, or marriage parties.
- 10. I acknowledge that my appointment as Designee may be terminated at any time by either party for no cause with 30 days written notice, or at any time for any material breach of this agreement by either party.
- 11. I agree to notify the Weber County Clerk/Auditor's office of any change in contact information during my term as a Designee.

Signature

Printed Name

Date

DESIGNATION BY THE WEBER COUNTY CLERK/AUDITOR

As granted in Utah Code Ann. 17-20-4, the Weber County Clerk/Auditor hereby names and appoints

as an official Designee to perform marriages in accordance with Utah State Code. The authority to act as a Designee is limited to the ceremony or ceremonies listed in this document, and is terminated upon the earlier of the date specified or the completion of the ceremony or ceremonies listed. This designation may also be rescinded by the Weber County Clerk/Auditor, or the Designee may resign, before the natural termination of the designation.

County Clerk

Deputy Clerk

Clerk Signature