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March 7, 2023 

NOTICE OF 2023 BUSINESS PERSONAL PROPERTY ONLINE TAX FILING 

Dear Weber County Business Owner, 

In accordance with the provisions set forth under the Revenue and Taxation laws for the State of Utah, taxable business entities are 
required to pay an annual self-assessing Personal Property Tax. Such tax is levied against all personal property assets (i.e. trade fixtures, 
equipment, computers, telephone systems, furniture, tools, signage, etc.) owned and/or used by the "business" as of January 1st of each 
year. 

Please refer to your account number and secure pin located above to utilize our online filing system. On the reverse hereof is a detailed 
set of instructions for filing online. Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient. For complete instructions, forms, and payment options, visit 
our website at: www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php . Please note: If you are unable to file online, please call our office at 
(801) 399-8572 for assistance.

New for 2023: (1) The Utah Legislature deemed supplies as exempt from taxation. Supplies include: office supplies, shipping supplies, 
maintenance supplies, replacement parts, lubricating oil, fuel, and items consumed in the course of operating the business. Supplies DO 
NOT include: furniture, fixtures, machinery, equipment, computers, cell phones, or vehicles. (2) Utah law states a business that files and 
qualifies for the personal property tax exemption, is not required to file a business personal property signed statement for each 
continuing consecutive year. Please note: You will be notified if your business has filed and qualified for the exemption. 

Tax Exemption: A business with an aggregate taxable value of $27,000 or less may be exempt from Personal Property Tax. This exemption 
applies to the total value of all Personal Property owned and/or used by your business in Weber County. If you have more than one 
business location in Weber County under the same business ownership, the exemption is applicable only if the total value of all property 
owned by such entity is less than $27,000. Your application for exemption may only be considered with a completed Signed Statement of 
Personal Property.  Failure to file timely and submit a signed statement may result in a forfeiture of your application for exemption. 

Your Signed Statement and tax payment are due on or before May 15, 2023. Past due accounts will be subject to a 
penalty and interest at the rate of 10.00% annually. 

If your business has closed or you no longer own this business, please complete the online "Business Change Form" found on our website at 
https://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/business_change_form.php . 

If you need assistance, please call (801) 399-8572 or visit our office at 2380 Washington Blvd. Suite 380, Ogden, UT 84401.  Our office 
hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  

Sincerely, 

John Ulibarri  
Weber County Assessor 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
https://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/business_change_form.php
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2023 Personal Property Tax Online Filing Instructions 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php  

All businesses are required to submit an annual self-assessing personal property tax filing. The process of filing your business 
personal property tax begins with gathering your records. 

 A complete list of all assets (trade fixtures, equipment, machinery, signage, computers, furniture, etc.) used in connection

with your business as of January 1, 2023 is needed. This list should include: item description, acquisition year, acquisition

cost, and quantity.

 Lease agreements for any equipment being leased or rented, used in connection with your business as of January 1, 2023.

Access the Online Personal Property filing system at www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php   
Click ‘File Online Business Personal Property’ and refer to your account number and password located on the reverse hereof to log 
in.  

 Filing online is quick, safe, and efficient.

 First, please verify basic contact and location information.

 Enter the information on all leased or rented equipment (please do not list registered motor vehicles or land and buildings).

 Businesses filing for the first time are required to file a full declaration. In subsequent years, your equipment listing from

the previous year will be available to update.

 Begin adding your equipment by selecting a correct classification code (refer to the valuation schedules/descriptions if

unsure), then add the item description, year acquired, quantity, and cost.

 As you add each piece of equipment to the filing system, it will automatically calculate a taxable value based on the

classification code chosen.

 Once all equipment has been entered, your total taxable value and total tax due will be calculated. If the total taxable value

is $27,000 or less, you will be exempt from payment.

 Once you proceed to the “Final Steps”, you will electronically sign the Signed Statement for submission.

 After submitting your filing, be sure to click “Print Return” and retain a copy for your records.

 If required, electronic payments can be made in the form of an e-check or credit card. A fee of 2.45% ($1.95 minimum) is

charged on all credit card transactions; Weber County does not receive this fee.

 If you elect to pay your personal property tax via postal mail, please ensure the payment is postmarked by May 15, 2023 to

avoid interest.

Once you have completed the entire online filing process, your filing will be reviewed by a personal property appraiser in our office. 
If any changes are necessary, we will correct them and notify you of any changes.  

If you need assistance, please call our office at (801) 399-8572. Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

Thank you for using our online filing system. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


PLEASE VERIFY LOCATION ADDRESS 

ADDRESS INCORRECT? SEE BUSINESS CHANGE FORM 

2023 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 

John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 
DeeDee Kimber • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 
Phone: (801) 399-8572 • Fax: (801) 399-8308   

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

Line 1: Equipment – Enter Grand Total from Schedule D  
If the total on line 1 is $27,000 or less, STOP, do not calculate the tax at this 
time, sign form below. DO NOT DEDUCT $27,000. ________________________  (1) 

Line 2: Tax Rate – IMPORTANT NOTE: If the business location has changed during the 
past year, please call (801) 399-8572 for the correct tax rate. 

________________________  (2) 

Line 3: Tax Amount Due – Line 1 multiplied by Line 2.       ________________________  (3) Tax Due 

Make check payable to: Weber County Assessor, 2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380, Ogden, UT 84401 
PLEASE NOTE: FILING AND PAYMENT DUE DATE IS MAY 15, 2023 

I do swear that this signed statement reflects a full, true, and correct account 
of all personal property within Weber County, Utah, subject to taxation 
which was owned, possessed, managed, or controlled by me at 12 o’clock 
noon on January 1, 2023, that no property has been transferred out of 
Weber County or disposed of for the purpose of avoiding any assessment.   
Unsigned statements will be returned and will be subject to interest and/or 
penalty if delayed. If your business qualifies for exemption from property tax 
based on the value detailed and listed herein, your signature on this 
statement of personal property is required. You are certifying that the 
taxable value of all tangible personal property owned by the legal entity 
listed above is $27,000 or less. This application for exemption is not official 
until granted by the Board of Equalization. This form will be submitted to the 
board on your behalf by the Assessor. This exemption is determined by 
ownership. If you have tangible personal property at different locations, and 
you file more than one personal property statement, the total value of all 
tangible personal property at all locations will determine exemption 
eligibility. 

Any Taxpayer dissatisfied with the taxable value may appeal by 
filing an application no later than May 15, 2023. Appeal forms may 
be obtained from the Weber County Auditor's office, 2380 
Washington Blvd. STE 320 Ogden, UT 84401. 

APPEALS MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN MAY 15, 2023 

CUSTOMER SERVICE: (801) 399-8572 

PLEASE CHECK ONE 

Sole Proprietor 

Partnership 

Corporation 

L.L.C.

Nature of Business: 
 _______ 

Federal Tax ID:  __ 

Date Opened:   

Does the applicant listed above own property listed on other personal 
property statements at other locations within this County? 

Yes [   ] No [   ] If yes, please list the other account numbers in space below. 

SIGNATURE    DATE  PHONE 
REQUIRED  REQUIRED 



John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR

DeeDee Kimber • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR 2023 SIGNED STATEMENT OF PERSONAL PROPERTY 

SCHEDULE D 
Equipment Description and Value 

List all business furniture, fixtures and equipment owned and/or used in connection with your business 

More forms are available on-line @ www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

See Schedule 

(A) Property Code

(B) 

Property Description 

(C) 

Year of Acquisition 

(D) 

Original Cost 

(E) 

Quantity 

(D) x (E)=

(F) Total Cost

See Schedule 

(G) Depreciation Rate

(F) x (G)=

(H) Market Value

Examples:    Examples only 

150 HP Laptop Computer 2021 1,350 2 2,700 46% 1,242 

155 Software 2020 1,250 2 2,500 12% 300 

Enter Equipment Detail Here: 

Please enter the total market value of all property on Line 1 of the Signed Statement: Total Market Value: 
 More forms are available online at www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php
http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


John Ulibarri • WEBER COUNTY ASSESSOR Account Number: _________________
DeeDee Kimber • CHIEF DEPUTY ASSESSOR 
2380 Washington Blvd. STE 380 Ogden, UT 84401 

Phone: (801) 399-8572 Fax: (801) 399-8308 

www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php 

LEASED OR RENTED EQUIPMENT 
List itemized leased or rented equipment below. DO NOT transfer any totals to the signed statement. 

Note: If your equipment is considered a “Conditional Sale Lease”, make sure it has previously been reported or listed on the schedule A 
in the equipment acquired area. You are required to list and pay taxes on this equipment as if it were owned by you. 

NAME AND ADDRESS OF LESSOR EQUIPMENT  DESCRIPTION 
STARTING DATE 

OF LEASE 

COST AT 

START DATE 

ATTACH SEPARATE SHEET(S) IF NECESSARY 

Business Change Form 

Business Name Account 

Owner Telephone 

Mailing Address 

Physical Address 

Contact Person 

Telephone E-Mail 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS       Mailing  Location 

Previous Address __________________ 

New Address When _____________________ 

BUSINESS NAME CHANGED 

Previous Name 

New Name 

SOLD BUSINESS 

Date Business Sold Business at Same Location? Yes No 

Who has Possession of Equipment? 

CLOSED BUSINESS 

Date Business Ceased Operating: Business License Cancelled? Yes No 

What Happened to the Equipment? 

FILED BANKRUPTCY 

What is the Case Number? Status of Filing 

Date of Bankruptcy Business in Operation? Yes No 

Utah Code: 59-2-307- ... Each person who fails to file the signed statement shall pay a penalty equal to 10% of the estimated tax due, but 
not less than $25 for each failure to file a signed and completed statement. The penalty imposed by this section may not be waived or 
reduced by the assessor, county commission, or county board of equalization. 

http://www.webercountyutah.gov/Assessor/pproperty.php


 2023 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2022 62% 2022 79% Year Acquired Percent Good

2021 46% 2021 49% 2022 98% Medical & Dental Equipment:

2020 21% 2020 & prior 12% 2021 94% Specialized Equipment used in Medical 

2019 9% Property is highly susceptible to 2020 90% Profession & Health Care Industry 

2018 & prior 7% breakage, loss and rapid wear & tear. 2019 85% Examples of Property Include: 

Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: 2018 77% Beds - Medical

CAD/CAM Systems Bath Mats 2017 67% Dental Equipment & Instruments 

Data Processing Equipment  Computer Software 2016 55% Electrolysis Machines, Medical

Data Processing Peripherals  Library Materials/Books 2015 45% Exam Tables & Chairs  

LAN Systems Molds 2014 34% Eye Examination Equipment - Medical

Mainframe Computers Motel/Hotel Linen & Towels 2013 23% Hospital Equipment  

Personal Computers Motion Picture Prints 2012 & prior 12% Lensometer - Medical  

Plotters Patterns, Jigs & Dies Machinery & Equipment: Lenses - Medical

Copiers Plants, Decorative Machinery & tooling used in production Medical Equipment & Instruments 

Copy, Fax, Printer Combination Pots & Pans and processing industries. Equipment Mesoptomers  

Printer/Copy Machines Utensils & Silverware used in service industries such as Microscopes  

POS Systems-Non Manual Wood Pallets service stations, laundry & dry cleaning, Nitrous Oxide Systems and Tanks

Thermal Printer cleaning, and bulk petroleum  distributors Optical Equipment & Instruments 

Examples of Property Include: Sterilizers - Medical  

Air Compressors Surgiscope - Medical

Amusement Rides Thermometer - Medical

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Automotive Tools X-Ray Machines 

2022 97% 2022 94% Bakery Equipment Bottling Veterinary Instruments & Equipment 

2021 91% 2021 81% Bowling Equipment 

2020 86% 2020 61% Brew/Distillery Equipment 

2019 76% 2019 42% Cannery Equipment

2018 66% 2018 & prior 22% Carpet Cleaners Equipment Year Acquired Percent Good

2017 54% Data Processing Equipment, Car Wash Equipment 2022 70%

2016 40% Electronic Type of Equipment, Clothes Washers & Dryers 2021 67%

2015 27% including Office Machines subject Conveyors 2020 65%

2014 & prior 14% to severe wear & tear  Drill Rigs-Non Petroleum  2019 62%

Non-mechanical furniture & trade fixtures Examples of Property Include: Dry Cleaning Machines 2018 60%

Examples of Property Include: Accounting Machines  Food Preparation Equipment 2017 58%

Auditorium & Theater Seats  Alarm Systems  Generators 2016 55%

Awnings Candy Machines  Golf Carts 2015 53%

Bars & Sinks (Portable) Cash Registers  Incinerators 2014 50%

BBQs/Fireplaces  Coin-Op Vending Machines Kilns-Dry & Tunnel 2013 48%

Beauty/Barber Shop Fixtures  Drive-Up Windows (Bank) Kitchen Appliances 2012 45%

Booths, Tables & Chairs Drones Lawn Mowers 2011 43%

Cabinets & Shelves (Portable) Fax Machines  Lube Systems & Devices 2010 40%

Cashier’s Island Microwave Communications Equip. Machine Shop Equipment 2009 & prior 38%

Check Out Counters Music/Stereo Systems & Radios Manufacturing Machinery Mobile Machinery used in the 

Decorations Reservation Terminals  Meat Packing Equipment construction & quarry industry, as well 

Display–Cases & Racks (Non Refrigerated) Shopping Carts  Merchandise Pickup Towers as equipment used in the processing of 

Exercise Equipment Small Equipment Rental Milling Plant Equipment construction materials. 

Furniture- All Types Sound Systems  Mortuary Equipment Examples of Property Include: 

Garbage Containers Surveillance Camera/TV Piping - Industrial Asphalt Equipment 

Framing Telephone Systems & Equip. Commercial Presses and Printing Backhoes & Front Loaders

Motel/Hotel Beds and Furniture Typewriters        Equipment  Batch Plants 

Mobile Offices Video Game Machines  Processing Equipment Cement Batch Plants 

Office and Concession Trailers Pumps- Air, Water, Fuel Concrete/Cement Forms- Heavy Duty

Movable Partitions  Refrigerated Display Cases Compaction Equipment 

Movie Screens  Refrigeration Equipment Cranes-Construction 

Musical Instruments  Sanders and Saws Excavators 

Signs, Mechanical & Electrical Service Station Equipment Graders 

*LED Component of a billboard Sewing Machine Loaders 

Tanning Booths Shoe Repair Machinery Log Skidders & Loaders 

Televisions Ski Lift Machinery Pavers 

Water Slides Smelter Equipment Scrapers 

Snow Removal Equipment Snow Cats 

Submerged Pumps Sweepers

Tools - Hand and Power

Wheel Alignment & Balancing  

      Equipment  

Welders 

Woodworking Equipment

*Continued

Heavy Equipment

*Continued

Medical & Dental Equipment

Continued on Back

Furniture & Trade Fixtures Short Life Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 10 PROPERTY CODE 15

PROPERTY CODE 30

Machinery & Equipment and 

PROPERTY CODE 20 PROPERTY CODE 20
Machinery & Equipment and 

Medical & Dental Equipment

PROPERTY CODE 150 PROPERTY CODE 155
Computer Hardware Short Life Property



 2023 PERSONAL PROPERTY VALUATION SCHEDULE

Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good

2022 80% 2022 $15.00 2021 & prior $3.00 Percent Good

2021 60% Examples of Property Include: Examples of Property Include: Year less Residential 

2020 40% Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs, Rental Video Tapes, CDs, DVDs,  Acquired Exemption

2019 20% Blu-Ray and computer games Blu-Ray and computer games 2022 53%

2018 & prior 6% 2021 50%

Examples of Property Include: 2020 47%

Property used to prevent, control, or 2019 42%

reduce air or water pollution and 2018 36%

used in connection with NAICS 2017 30%

subsector 324110 Petroleum Year Acquired Percent Good Year Acquired Percent Good 2016 22%

Refinery 2022 47% 2022 98% 2015 15%

2021 34% 2021 97% 2014 & prior 8%

2020 24% 2020 95% Furniture & Trade Fixtures used 

2019 15% 2019 92% exclusively within a dwelling

Year Acquired Percent Good 2018 & prior 6% 2018 91% unit that is a primary resident

2022 94% Examples of Property Include: 2017 90% of a tenant.

2021 82% Clean Room Equipment 2016 87% Examples of Property Include: 

2020 62% Chemical & Gas Systems 2015 81% Furniture - Couches/Chairs

2019 44% Crystal Growing Equipment 2014 74% Household Furnishings

2018 23% Deionized Water Systems 2013 69%

2017 & prior 4% Encapsulation Equipment 2012 59%

Examples of Property Include: Photo Mask & Wafer Equip.  2011 58%

Aircraft Tools and Dies 2010 54%

Aircraft Manufacturing  2009 47%

Aircraft Manufacture & Test Equip 2008 40%

Aircraft Molds  2007 33% Percent Good

Aircraft Patterns  2006 26% Year less Residential 

Aircraft Taps and Gauges Year Acquired Percent Good 2005 18% Acquired Exemption

2022 97% 2004 & prior 9% 2022 54%

2021 90% Property having a long physical life. 2021 52%

2020 82% Examples of Property Include: 2020 50%

2019 71% *Billboards (excluding LED component) 2019 48%

Year Acquired Percent Good 2018 58% Grain Elevators - Non-Farm 2018 42%

2022 98% 2017 45% Pipelines  2017 37%

2021 96% 2016 30% Radio Towers  2016 30%

2020 94% 2015 & prior 15% Sign Towers  2015 25%

2019 91% Machinery which cannot operate Ski Lift & Tram Towers 2014 19%

2018 85% independently from the computer Surface Tanks  2013 13%

2017 77% system. Machinery & computer Towers - Cell Phone, Broadcast 2012 & prior 7%

2016 68% sold as a single unit.  Underground Tanks  Machinery & Equipment used 

2015 58% Examples of Property Include: Wind Powered Electrical exclusively within a dwelling

2014 49% Computerized Assembly Machinery Generators/Equipment/Towers  unit that is a primary resident

2013 39% Computer Driven Mills of a tenant.

2012 30% Computer Integrated Fabrication *Only billboard signage should be Examples of Property Include: 

2011 20%       Machinery classified Long Life. For all other signage, Microwave Oven

2010 & prior 11% MRI Equipment including the LED component of a Refrigerators/Freezers

Equipment used in the petroleum & gas Computerized Machine Lathes billboard, see property code 10. Washers and Dryers

exploration and production industry CAT Scanners Window Mount Air Conditioners

Examples of Property Include: Gamma Camera Systems 

Distillation Equipment  Digital Movie Projection Equipment

Drill Rigs Ultrasound (Sonograph) Equipment 

Gas Lines-Petroleum Mammography Units 

Holding & Storage Facilities Digital X-Ray Machines 

Metering Devices Other Computer Integrated Machinery 

Petroleum Pumping Units  

Re-Injection Equipment 

Wellhead Assemblies  

Well Site Generators 

Petroleum & Natural Gas 

Exploration and Prod. Equip. 

PROPERTY CODE 13
Semiconductor Manufacturing

Computer Integrated Machinery

PROPERTY CODE 230

Pollution Control Equipment

Long Life Property

PROPERTY CODE 12
Aircraft/Manufacturing Tools & Dies

PROPERTY CODE 203

For more classification examples, please refer to the link listed below.  
https://propertytax.utah.gov/personal/classification-guide/

PROPERTY CODE 214

Furniture & Trade Fixtures Used for 

Residential Purposes

Household Machinery & Equip 

Used for Residential Purposes

PROPERTY CODE 205

PROPERTY CODE 401
Rental Media

PROPERTY CODE 105PROPERTY CODE 400
Rental Media

PROPERTY CODE 29

https://propertytax.utah.gov/personal/classification-guide/



