Victims’ Rights

What are my rights as a Crime Victim?

Resource List

For Non-Emergency’s For Emergency’s
Weber County Justice Court (Roy City) Call 911

801-774-1051 or 801-399-8377 Dispatch
Weber County Sheriff’s 801-395-8221

801-778-6600 www.co.weber.ut.us/sheriff
North Ogden Police

801-782-7219 www.northogdencity.com
Pleasant View Police

801-782-6736 www.pleasantviewcity.com
Harrisville Police

801-782-4100 www.cityofharrisville.com
Roy Police

801-774-1010 www.royutah.org
Riverdale Police

801-394-6616 www.riverdalecity.com
Utah Highway Patrol

801-393-1136 www.publicsafety.utah.gov
Weber State Police

801-626-6460 www.weber.edu/police
Ogden Police

801-629-8064 www.police.ogdencity.com
South Ogden Police

801-622-2800 www.southogdencity.com
2nd District Court

801-395-1079 www.utcourts.gov
CJC (Children’s Justice Center)

801-778-6261 www.cjcogden.org
DCFS (Division of Child & Family)

801-629-5800 www.dcfs.utah.gov
YCC (Your Community Connection)

801-394-9456 www.ycchope.org/yccogden
Utah Office for Victims of Crime

801-238-2360 www.crimevictim.utah.gov
VINE Link (Victim Information Now Everyday)

1-877-884-8463 www.vinelink.com
NUSANE (Northern Utah Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner)

801-436-1075

Weber County Attorney’s Office
2380 Washington Blvd Suite 230
Ogden UT 84401

801-399-8377 Office « 801-399-8304 Facsimile

Weber County
Attorney

Victim Witness
Program

Mission Statement:

“The mission of the Weber County Attorney’s
Office is to uphold the public’s trust in the pursuit
of justice and enforcement of the law.”
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Process

Agency Case#

—

Once the investigation is completed,
the case will be screened by the

Attorney for charges to be filed with
the Weber County Attorney’s Office.

Please provide current information to
the officer so our office can keep you
informed of the Criminal case.

If charges are filed, a victim impact
statement will be sent to the victim
for completion. Please return within
14 days so we can protect your rights.

After the defendant’s first appearance,
notifications will be sent out to the
victim until the case is closed.

When convicted and a sentencing date
is set, victims are encouraged to
attend the sentencing hearing where
they can speak about the impact of
their case.

If applicable, restitution will then be
ordered at the time of sentencing.
Defendants will have until the end of
probation to pay off restitution.

Personal effects held in evidence can
be released 30 days after sentencing.
The Prosecutor must sign a release
form. Contact our office for this form.

If charges are not filed, any physical
evidence may be returned or
destroyed to the victim.

Responding Officer:

in a Criminal Case

wa.utcourts.gov for the self-help center.

Frequently Asked Questions/Answers

G Can the victim of a crime dismiss charges \

once they have been filed against a defendant?
A: No. It is the Weber County Attorney’s Office that
is prosecuting the defendant, only they can dismiss
the charges. For more information, visit us at
www.webercountyutah.gov/Attorney/Victim Witn

ess/

Q: How do I find out when a defendant is going
to be released from Jail or Prison?

A: Call VINE link at 1-877-884-8463 or go online at
www.vinelink.com for more information.

Q. How do I apply for counseling and financial
help with my medical bills?

A. Contact Utah Office for Victims of Crime. You
must fill out an application and be approved.

Call 801-238-2360 or go online at
www.crimevictim.utah.gov for an application.

Q: I am the victim of a crime. When am I
required to be present in court?

A: You are not required to be in court unless you
receive a subpoena (green paper) to appear and
testify. As a victim, you have the right to be present
at any court hearing. If you would like you can
attend.

Q: There was restitution ordered in my case.
How do I get my money?

A: For payment information, contact the 2nd District
Court (restitution clerk) at 801-395-1079 or Adult
Probation and Parole at 801-626-3700. Visit
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Types of Protective Orders:
e Jail No Contact Order (Criminal)
0 Expires after 1st court appearance.
DV Pre-Trial No Contact Order (Criminal)
0 Expires when case is sentenced.
Sentencing Protective Order (Criminal)
0  Active until end of probation.
Protective Order, Stalking Injunction (Civil)
0 Active until dismissed by a Judge.

/

Probation & Parole Services:
Adult Probation & Parole
Alliance Probation Services
APEX Probation Services

C&D Court Services

NEFA (No Excuse for Abuse)
Professional Probation Services
Utah Alternative Programs

801-626-3700
801-444-3335
801-444-3335
801-392-9545
801-416-8111
801-689-0334
801-394-0654

Board Of Pardons: (prison sentence)
e  Victim Orientation Meeting

0 An information meeting where
victims of crime meet with a Board
Representative and talk about
what happens at the Prison.
These meetings will be held on the
2nd Monday during the months of
March, June, September and
December.

0 Meetings will be held at 6:30 pm in
the Board Conference Room.

O 448 E Winchester Street Murray,
UT 84107 bop.utah.gov

Contact Victim Coordinators at 801-261-6464.

Victim Witness Coordinators Contact Information:
Jamie Pitt 801-399-8672 jpitt@co.weber.ut.us
Becky Jones 801-399-8631 bjones@co.weber.ut.us
Jessica Willis 801-399-8378 jwillis@co.weberiut.us
(Juvenile Court) Diane Oberg-Lowe 801-399-8698
doberglowe@co.weber.ut.us

(Justice Court) Lee Ann Nielson 801-399-8677

Inielson@co.weber.ut.us
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