THE CLERK/AUDITOR'S OFFICE WILL CLOSE AT 4:00 PM ON FRIDAY, JULY 10th.
Weber County Tax Sale:
DUE TO COVID-19, THE TAX SALE WILL ONLY BE OPEN TO REGISTERED BIDDERS. SPECTATORS WILL BE ABLE TO VIEW THE PROCEEDINGS VIA LIVE VIDEO STREAM. A link to the video stream will be available on this page the day of the sale.
June 25, 2020, 10:00 a.m. (MST)
Weber Center, Commission Chambers 1st Floor
2380 Washington Blvd., Ogden, UT 84401
Forms & Information:
- List of Properties for the 2020 Tax Sale
- Bidder Information Packet
- Bidder Registration Form
- Unsold Properties Struck Off to the County
A Tax Sale is the public auction of any real property with taxes that have been delinquent for four years from the final tax payment deadline (five years including by the date of the sale).
Where can I find a list of properties up for sale?
The Tax Sale listing is published on our website and in the Standard Examiner four weeks before the date of the Tax Sale and is updated weekly. Also, please see the List of Properties For Sale page.
When will the next Tax Sale be held?
Weber County typically holds its annual Tax Sale the Thursday before Memorial Day. This may be subject to change, and the date is usually decided in January.
Once the date and location of the next Tax Sale has been finalized, that information is found at the top of this page.
Bidders are encouraged to review the Bidder Information Packet and arrive with a Bidder Registration Form filled out and ready to turn in. Weber County will have blank forms available on the day of the tax sale.
Where is the Tax Sale held?
Commission Chambers, 1st Floor (just inside the main entrance)
2380 Washington Blvd.
Ogden, UT 84401
Can a property be redeemed (taxes paid) before the sale?
Delinquent property may be redeemed on behalf of the recorded owner by any person at any time prior to the final Tax Sale. All property redeemed within three weeks prior to the Tax Sale must be redeemed through the County Treasurer in cash or bank certified funds. A person redeeming the delinquent property must pay to the Treasurer the total delinquent amount including taxes, interest, penalties and administrative costs.
Partial payments will not redeem a property. By law, any payments are applied to the most recent tax year first, which means the oldest taxes due are the last to be paid. This ensures that a property is brought current at least once every five years.
How do I bid on a property at the Tax Sale?
You may register as a bidder for the Tax Sale the morning of the Tax Sale by submitting a Bidder Registration Form. You will be issued a bidder number that you will use for bidding at the Tax Sale. Bidders must appear in person to bid on a property. Please carefully review the Bidder Information Packet.
What form of payment is accepted? Is a financing plan available?
The successful bidder on a parcel must pay the full amount to the Weber County Treasurer in cash or with bank certified funds. There is no financing available through Weber County.
If the amount of the sale is less than $2,000, the Treasurer may accept a personal check as a deposit at the time of the Tax Sale with the understanding that cash or bank certified funds for the entire amount of the sale will be paid to the County Treasurer by 5:00 p.m. on the day of the sale.
If the amount of the sale exceeds $2,000, the successful bidder must pay a non-refundable deposit of $1,000 cash or bank certified funds on the day of the sale, with the balance due and payable to the County Treasurer by 5:00 p.m. within five (5) business days from the day of the sale.
When will I get the deed to the property I bought at the Tax Sale?
We will mail a Tax Deed to the new owner within thirty days after the sale is ratified by the County Commission.
What happens to the properties not sold at the Tax Sale?
Any property unsold at the Tax Sale, and which is not in the public interest to be re-certified to a subsequent sale, shall become county property. If you would like information on property owned by Weber County, please see our Unsold Properties page.
What happens when property is sold at the Tax Sale for more than the total amount due to the county?
The person who was the recorded owner of the property before the tax sale typically receives any sale funds in excess of the amount for delinquent taxes, penalties, interest, and administrative fees. The prior owner must contact the Weber County Treasurer to claim any excess funds. Any money not claimed by an owner will be forwarded to the State Treasurer and treated as unclaimed property under Title 67.
Where can I find the results of a previous Tax Sale?